Ventura

My dad passed away nearly two months ago. One of the best things to happen to him during the last 4 months, was an old Air Force buddy reaching out to him.

My dad was in the USAF from 1966-1970. Tech Sergeant Dumont!  During that time, he was stationed in Louisiana,  California, Korea and Japan. He met a lot of people – had a few Korean girlfriends  (which still makes mom raise her eyebrows…it’s cute, really) and he learned to play guitar. 

He met a man, Brian Carroll. During the years, Brian would become one of dad’s dearest friends. When dad left California for Maine, after his discharge,  he asked Brian to hold his guitar because he simply didn’t have a place to keep it.  Brian did just that. 

In 1970, dad met mom and they married. Had my sister in 1971, me in 1972 and they lived numerous places. Over the years, dad and Brian broke apart, like friendships often do.  Until …

Early December 2015, when dad was given the prognosis of stage 4 lung cancer, and life expectancy of 4 months. Brian mysteriously called mom. Said he gave dad’s guitar to his sister to hold. Brian’s amazing sister held it in her attic for nearly 45 years. She was moving and asked Brian,  “Do you still want this old guitar?”  When Brian called mom, it was shipped later that week.

Dad received the guitar about 1 week before going into hospice care. He held it for the last time. I got the chance to see the guitar, which was originally a 12 string,  when I visited prior to his death. I cried remembering how daddy loved to play,  although not the best, he was a musician in my eyes.

After dad passed, the guitar was given to his brother,  Wayne. Wayne did play – very well. He accepted the guitar with a heartfelt speech of my dad. Saying my dad was his mentor, his best friend and concluded saying he would not be half the man he is today had my dad not been a part of his life. 

A 1960 something Ventura is the guitar. My dad, Tech Sergeant Elmer Dumont.

I miss him so terribly and hope he knows how much I love him

image

About k1nd3r5t3w

Born and raised in Maine. US Army Veteran, living in Kansas! Love road trips and my son. Go PATRIOTS. Amateur writer who just writes from the heart. Runner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

