India

I remember being in 6th grade and watching Gandhi. I must have said a thousand times after watching that I would visit India some day. Nobody believed me. In 2010, I had such an opportunity. I spent 30 days in Delhi. When I got off the plane, which was about a 14 hour journey, it was hot! And I was thrilled! It was late, probably around 10pm. My driver met me and took me to the hotel, Courtyard by Marriott in Gurgaon. By the time I left India, I visited the Taj Mahal, the Lotus Temple, and rode the train to the Pink City. I was at peace for the first time in so long. Literally, at peace .. with myself. I didn’t doubt myself. I was confident and proud of who I was, who I found hidden. I purchased alcohol (Kingfisher beer) on the street, after 11pm which is not allowed. I walked alone to the mall and learned a few tricks along the way. If ever I can go back, I would in a heartbeat. Just a few photos of my time.

image

Entry sign for the Lotus Temple

image

Lotus Temple

image

Taj Mahal

image

Me on the other side of the Taj (i think this is part of the old King's castle...I don't quite remember)

image

Rickshaw

About k1nd3r5t3w

Born and raised in Maine. US Army Veteran, living in Kansas! Love road trips and my son. Go PATRIOTS. Amateur writer who just writes from the heart. Runner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

