I’m only human

Often times people are asked, “if you could change anything about (insert situation), what would you change?”. I look back at my life, all my struggles, disappointments, hurts. I wouldn’t change those moments for all the good in the world. Living through those experiences, I’ve learned what I am meant to be. Being raised by alcoholics, I’ve lived through physical and emotional abuse. That doesn’t mean I would change who my parents are. That experience taught me who I’m not going to be to my own child. No matter the situation, you learn from it. From the moment we’re born, we’re taught. Taught to hold a bottle to feed independently. We’re taught to walk, talk, think, all on our own. If that’s what we are taught from day one, or shortly thereafter, why would anyone look down on you for making a decision that’s right and best for YOU? We are all bound to make mistakes, that’s just life. We’re human. Learning from those mistakes is what builds our character. I wouldn’t go back to any of my mistakes and change the situation. For every change made, there could be an adverse reaction. Even making the same mistake more than once, it’s human. You get intoxicated more than once. “Never again will I …” but, you do it again. My sister’s fourth grade teacher once said, “everyone makes mistakes. That’s why God put erasers on pencils.” No, you can’t erase all of the mistakes made in life, but you can admit the mistake made and learn from it. Admitting your flaws, faults, errors, mistakes makes you human.

About k1nd3r5t3w

Born and raised in Maine. US Army Veteran, living in Kansas! Love road trips and my son. Go PATRIOTS. Amateur writer who just writes from the heart. Runner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

