The “vacation” that changed my life

As a child, I don’t recall taking family vacations. The only times I can remember really going out of town was when my Nana would take my sister and me to Santa’s Village. Funny, we’d always go when the weather was warmer..Santa’s Village with no snow!  I never realized that then. Occasionally, we’d go to Bangor to visit my aunt and uncle,  or Pittsfield to visit another aunt and uncle. Those trips were always nice and special. Spending time with family is always a good time. I still remember one of my cousins farting on my head at the foot of the bed at my Aunt Bea’s house. Another cousin, Chris, would steal Monopoly money in the basement of his parent’s house (I’m still not sure Chris should be the banker).  Those memories will always be with me.

But the first “vacation” I ever went on was to Columbia, South Carolina. Fort Jackson, to be specific; Basic Training for the US Army. It was the summer of 1991 and I was 18 years old. I think it was the hottest summer in South Carolina history (probably not, but coming from Maine, it sure felt like it). It was beautiful though.

About k1nd3r5t3w

Born and raised in Maine. US Army Veteran, living in Kansas! Love road trips and my son. Go PATRIOTS. Amateur writer who just writes from the heart. Runner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

